Close Menu
NCIJ Network NCIJ Network
    What's Hot

    ‘Watermelons’: Zack Polanski and the rise of the ‘green outside, red inside’ eco-populists | Zack Polanski

    September 23, 2026

    Almost ten million people took part in ECB survey on new euro banknotes

    September 23, 2026

    PitPro’s first tire-changing robot goes live in Canada

    September 23, 2026
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    Trending
    • ‘Watermelons’: Zack Polanski and the rise of the ‘green outside, red inside’ eco-populists | Zack Polanski
    • Almost ten million people took part in ECB survey on new euro banknotes
    • PitPro’s first tire-changing robot goes live in Canada
    • Arista patches actively exploited VeloCloud Orchestrator zero-day
    • Morning Minute: Bitcoin Hits $86,000 as Oil Slides and ETFs Bid
    • The end of humanity? What would happen if the Yellowstone supervolcano erupted now
    • In Peru’s high Andes, restoring ancient ecosystems could help protect water security
    • Construction ramps up at Orkney Islands’ first link to UK mainland
    • About
      • Our Team
      • Editorial Policy
      • Editorial Independence
      • International Support
    • Trust & Standards
      • AI Usage Policy
      • Conflict of Interest Policy
      • Corrections Policy
      • Ethics Policy
      • Fact-Checking Policy
      • Source Protection
    • Get Involved
      • Guide for Sources
      • Support Independent Journalism
    • Legal
      • Cookie Policy
      • Privacy Policy
      • Terms of Use
    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram
    NCIJ Network NCIJ Network
    Wednesday, September 23
    • Home
    • World
    • Ai
    • Business
    • Politics
    • Health
    • Crypto
    • Science
    • Technology
    • Cybersecurity
    • Defense & Security
    • Economy
    • Energy
    • Europe
    • More
      • Fact Check
      • Investigations
      • Opinion & Analysis
      • Environment
    NCIJ Network NCIJ Network
    Home»Crypto & Blockchain

    Why Mastercard’s $25 billion crypto expansion isn’t what it seems

    NCIJ NETWNCIJ NETWORKBy NCIJ NETWNCIJ NETWORKSeptember 23, 2026 Crypto & Blockchain No Comments6 Mins Read
    Share
    Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Email

    SoFi Bank and Mastercard have announced SoFiUSD settlement is live for the bank’s debit and credit card program, moving their March plan into production.

    The rollout puts a token-based settlement route behind familiar card payments and, according to SoFi, gives participating merchants a way to receive dollars in a bank account without holding the token. SoFi expects more than $25 billion in annualized card-program volume after migration; it has not disclosed how much has actually settled in SoFiUSD.

    The migration remains underway. Cardholders can keep using existing cards, while SoFi describes a bank-account cash route for merchants and separate redemption rules for token holders. Those groups encounter different parts of the arrangement, so a live blockchain transaction alone says little about the scale of merchant benefit or token-holder access.

    From a planned rail to live settlement

    The March partnership announcement described SoFiUSD settlement as a future option. The companies’ September release says transactions are now occurring on a blockchain for SoFi Bank’s card program. The full-program migration is still in progress, and SoFi has not given a completion date.

    SoFi expects the program to process more than $25 billion annually using SoFiUSD after that migration. The figure is a projection of card activity at an eventual run rate. SoFi has not disclosed the amount or share of transactions already settled in the token. That missing denominator prevents readers from treating the projected program size as the stablecoin’s observed throughput.

    Related Reading

    Mastercard frantically doubles down on crypto to avoid becoming irrelevant and losing control

    The token operates behind cards people already carry. SoFi says merchants need no stablecoin holdings or new infrastructure to use its proposed route, and the companies describe no requirement for consumers to acquire crypto at checkout. The visible card payment and the settlement path can therefore change on different schedules.

    For merchants, the useful measure is when settlement becomes spendable cash. The September release offers no measured before-and-after comparison of that timing or of cost for this program. A working transaction establishes operating status; merchant-level results would establish the economic effect.

    SoFi says businesses using its Big Business Banking platform can receive settlement funds immediately in a SoFi Bank account and access cash around the clock without holding SoFiUSD. That is the bank’s product claim. The September release names no live outside merchant settlement customer and says discussions with large US merchants continue. Its April platform announcement described business deposit accounts, continuous fiat and token transfers, and mint-and-burn conversion as capabilities the platform would include.

    In the arrangement SoFi describes, the merchant’s usable balance is held in a bank account while the stablecoin moves value through settlement. That division could spare a business from managing a token wallet. Actual outside-merchant use and measured cash-availability gains would show how far the capability extends beyond SoFi’s own card program.

    Diagram of SoFiUSD card settlement: March plan became live September 22, more than $25 billion annualized card volume is projected after migration, and actual token-settled volume is undisclosed.
    Diagram of SoFiUSD card settlement: March plan became live September 22, more than $25 billion annualized card volume is projected after migration, and actual token-settled volume is undisclosed.

    Account dollars and token rights

    A merchant paid into a bank account and a party receiving SOFID on-chain hold different claims. The issuer’s redemption and risk terms govern the token holder; the card transaction itself does not make the shopper or merchant a direct redemption customer.

    The Catalyst

    What’s moving crypto. Why it matters.

    Get CryptoSlate’s essential stories and what to watch next.

    Published on Substack

    Seven days a week. Unsubscribe anytime.

    Whoops, looks like there was a problem. Please try again.

    Check your inbox.

    Your signup request was sent. If confirmation is required, follow the email from Substack.

    Look in spam or promotions if you don’t see it.

    SoFi Bank, a nationally chartered bank regulated by the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency, issues SoFiUSD and describes it as intended for one-for-one dollar redemption. Under SOFID’s terms, direct redemption is available only to approved SoFi customers with separate agreements, subject to conditions and fees. Receiving the token on-chain does not transfer that issuer claim. The terms also allow delays or suspensions under specified conditions.

    Bank deposits and tokens carry different protections. SoFi’s product disclosure says SoFiUSD itself is not a deposit, lacks FDIC and SIPC insurance and may be subject to delay, disruption or permanent loss. A bank-account payout may be useful precisely because the merchant can receive dollars without taking those token-holder risks.

    The reserve terms add another distinction. SoFi’s September release describes the token’s reserves as primarily cash. The issuer’s terms also permit cash equivalents and other legally allowed liquid instruments, with no fixed composition promised at every point. The release describes the backing policy but provides no point-in-time reserve breakdown.

    The terms also exclude people and entities located in, resident in or subject to UK or European Economic Area laws from acquiring, holding, transferring or using SOFID. Token eligibility and ordinary card acceptance follow different rules. That restriction concerns token participation; it does not establish a ban on card purchases in those markets.

    Related Reading

    US Bank moves USBDC across borders on Stellar, but only inside its own walls

    The scale the networks can actually show

    Mastercard outlined a broader settlement menu in June: regulated stablecoins alongside additional fiat timing options. It said USDC had supported early on-chain settlement in select markets and named Paxos-issued coins, RLUSD and SoFiUSD for planned support across multiple networks. SoFi’s launch puts one bank-issued coin into use within that wider strategy. Mastercard has not disclosed the eventual traffic share of each token or said every planned pairing is live.

    Visa offers a separate measure of scale. It reported on Sept. 8 that stablecoin settlement volume had recently exceeded a $20 billion annualized run rate. That reported run rate tracks stablecoin settlement activity. SoFi’s projected figure covers future annualized card-program volume after migration, so the two figures cannot rank the networks’ current stablecoin settlement volumes.

    Related Reading

    Visa is quietly routing $2.5 billion in credit through smart contracts, and no one knows who carries the risk

    SoFi and Mastercard have moved a named bank-issued stablecoin from a proposed card-settlement option to a live one. The next evidence that would establish its wider consequence is actual token-settled volume, outside-merchant adoption and measured access to spendable cash. Until those results are disclosed, the working route is clearer than its commercial scale.

    Billion Crypto expansion isnt Mastercards
    NCIJ NETWNCIJ NETWORK
    • Website

    Keep Reading

    Morning Minute: Bitcoin Hits $86,000 as Oil Slides and ETFs Bid

    Video of protests in Greece isn’t recent

    Live updates: Bitcoin slips under $86,000 as money rotates into BCH and ZEC

    Former Polish Police Officer Charged as Zondacrypto Probe Searches Fuel Depot

    Malicious iOS App FomoPeek Linked to $580K Crypto Theft

    Bitcoin Breaks Out as Nasdaq Hits Records and Oil Slides on Iran Hopes

    Add A Comment
    Leave A Reply Cancel Reply

    Editors Picks

    ‘Watermelons’: Zack Polanski and the rise of the ‘green outside, red inside’ eco-populists | Zack Polanski

    September 23, 2026

    Almost ten million people took part in ECB survey on new euro banknotes

    September 23, 2026

    PitPro’s first tire-changing robot goes live in Canada

    September 23, 2026

    Arista patches actively exploited VeloCloud Orchestrator zero-day

    September 23, 2026
    Latest Posts

    Ransom Cartel ransomware creator sentenced to 16 years in prison

    August 5, 2026

    Uber CEO brushes off reports of a Waymo break-up

    August 5, 2026

    Fauci Faces Contempt Vote. Here Are the Legal Issues Involved.

    August 6, 2026

    Subscribe to News

    Get the latest sports news from NewsSite about world, sports and politics.

    NCIJ Network is an independent digital news platform delivering trusted investigative journalism, European and global news, in-depth analysis, and fact-based reporting with accuracy, transparency, and integrity.

    Facebook X (Twitter) Instagram Pinterest YouTube

    ‘Watermelons’: Zack Polanski and the rise of the ‘green outside, red inside’ eco-populists | Zack Polanski

    September 23, 2026

    Almost ten million people took part in ECB survey on new euro banknotes

    September 23, 2026

    PitPro’s first tire-changing robot goes live in Canada

    September 23, 2026

    Subscribe to Updates

    Get the latest creative news from FooBar about art, design and business.

    Type above and press Enter to search. Press Esc to cancel.